Seasons in Trust

My son,

We’ve made it into another week, you and I.  In just a few more months we will hold you in our arms.  Life has changed so much in 21 weeks.  You have a name and a room of your own (though I still have so much to do to make it ready for you), and if you only realized how many people have already brought you presents you’d know how wanted you are. 

You’re so tiny, sweet son–so fragile.  I have only recently begun to feel your little feet and arms swaying inside of me.  Daddy can feel you moving, too, if I am still enough, and there’s nothing more beautiful to me than the smile that stretches across his face when you kick against his hand. 

We are praying for your dreams, little one, that you would encounter the Lord even as you sleep.  Daddy has prayed Psalm 91 over you so many times that he now quotes it from memory every night; and I think you love the sound of his voice because you start moving more when he walks into the room.

Your life is such a lesson in trust to me.  Our heavenly Father is forming you in hiddenness–in secret–and there’s nothing I can do to control what He’s making.  Of course, I am doing the “obvious” things to stay healthy, but I can’t keep your tiny heart beating any more than I can force one neuron to fire in your brain.  At this point, your feet are smaller than one section of my index finger, and you’re about the length of a standard ball-point pen.  How can God, who holds the entire universe in the palm of His hand, craft something so tiny with such precision?  And yet, every visit to my doctor confirms that you are perfect–my growing, healthy little miracle.

I am praying for you today, my son, with the admonition that David charged to Solomon before David’s death:

“Be strong, therefore, and prove yourself a man. And keep the charge of the LORD your God: to walk in His ways, to keep His statutes, His commandments, His judgments, and His testimonies, as it is written in the Law of Moses, that you may prosper in all that you do and wherever you turn.”  ~1 Kings 2:2-3  

I am claiming that you will know the hope of His calling; that you will be shielded from the evil one even as Jesus prayed right before His death.  I am praying that you will make a covenant with your eyes as Job did and fiercely guard purity all of your days.  May you be quick to praise, swift to give thanks, and dedicated to the Lord’s service in whatever way He calls you; and may love for Him and compassion for His people abound in your heart in all things.

This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seasons in Trust

  1. Cheroka says:

    I can’t wait until you little boy is here! (This was the first time I had read it was a boy) 🙂 I am so ahppy for the two of you and know that you will be such amazing parents.

  2. Nina Peery says:

    Why do you always have to make me cry? Now I am salting my tuna fish as I read your post during a quick lunch before my next class of young ones. My next class happens to be new Kindergarten students who I look at from a different perspective – the perspective of a grandmother. Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!

Leave a Reply

