30 Days – Day 11: John 4

Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water. . . .Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” ” ~Jn. 4:10, 13-14

Carrying over from yesterday’s post regarding my dream:

The only problem with an otherwise peaceful journey through the tunnels was that I became very thirsty. I remembered hearing the story of a man who had tried to find his way through the maze and had taken a hundred bottles of water with him because he knew how long the journey was. I hadn’t thought to take any provisions with me other than the map and flashlight on my phone.

However, before I could begin to worry about dehydrating or needing food, I came to a series of open cubicles on my right. Each had a low counter and a single porcelain sink, much like you see in a doctor’s office or in older gas station bathrooms.  At random, I picked one of the rooms, turned on the faucet, cupped my hands under the water and drank until I was full. Then I turned and noticed an old man sitting there and watching me.

He had a bottle of water in something resembling a holster at his hip.  It was a simple, clear bottle–the kind you can buy in bulk at most grocery stores–but without a label or any other distinguishing characteristic.  I asked him to give me the bottle.  Without a word, he handed it to me, and though it was half-full and had obviously been used, I did not worry about drinking after him (something unusual for me because I am normally a little picky about drinking or eating after others).

I left the old man and continued on my way, and had not gone more than a few yards before I came to the door that opened out into the other city and signaled the end of my journey. Immediately I turned back and retraced my steps to return the water bottle to the old man, but he had vanished. After that, I woke up.

——-

Jesus was kind enough to the Samaritan woman to give her what she needed instead of what she thought she wanted.  Sometimes I look at the blessings of the Lord and do not want to accept them because of the way I received them, must like I ordinarily wouldn’t have accepted a half-full bottle of water from a stranger.  However, much like Peter dreaming about the sheet that came down from heaven filled with animals he would have otherwise considered unclean, we must always be willing to accept the water of the Spirit from those the Lord chooses to send. 

Jesus will most often be found among the poor and the needy.   His heart aches for justice for the oppressed and He longs to minister to them with His Spirit.  When we search for Him, we would sometimes do well to leave our comfortable churches and journey into the environment where He did the most of His teaching and His miracles while on earth–on the streets with the tax collectors and “sinners.”

<–Day 10

<–Beginning

This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

