30 Days – Day 10: Psalm 139

If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” even the night shall be light about me; Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You. ~Ps. 139: 11-12

Earlier this week, I had a dream that I feel was from the Lord.  The next two blogs will take different parts of the dream and address them with the Word.

I dreamed there was a maze of underground tunnels that connected four cities.  The four cities were arranged like points on a compass, and the tunnels criss-crossed in all directions in a large circle between them. I wanted to walk from the eastern city to the northern one, and decided to go through the tunnels;  no one had ever achieved that route before because there were numerous dead-ends and some tunnels that took you in circles.  Although there was another path that went around the outside of all of the hidden tunnels, I was determined to walk through them.

It was a silent and still walk, for I saw no one else down there.  The air was cool and dim, and it seemed to be neither day nor night; for, despite being underground, it was not pitch black as one would suppose.  Nor were the tunnels round, earthy gashes in the ground, but more like streets leading through an underground city. 

It was a pretty walk, for the tunnels had tiled floors that wound like roads between a series of townhouses with brightly painted doors. Sometimes the path I had to follow led through rooms in some of these houses (usually messy rooms, with laundry all over the floors, unmade beds, etc.), and sometimes the tunnel split into four or five parallel tunnels and I had to pick which one to travel. However, I had my phone (equipped with a flashlight and Google maps) in hand, and thus had a bird’s-eye view of everything around me.  (continued tomorrow)

—–

I believe the path I followed in the dream represents a life walking with the Holy Spirit.  We have a concrete destination in mind (the New Jerusalem which will come down to earth at the end of the age) and we know from where we were coming.  There is an easy way to walk that does not require as much trust, but it does not take us through all the places the Lord wants to lead us as we learn His voice. 

I believe the townhouses represented the hearts of other people.  Sometimes the door to those hearts remained tightly shut, to be admired from a distance.  Other times, we walk through those hearts with words of wisdom and words of knowledge from the Lord, bringing order to chaos and peace to troubled emotions. 

The map and flashlight on my phone, I believe, represent the Word–our direct source of communication with the Father.  Without it, we are lost in a maze of half-truths, in a society whose moral compass is neither entirely evil nor entirely good.  It takes the discernment of the Holy Spirit to know when to speak and when to be silent, when to move and when to stand still.

Which brings me to Psalm 139.  How thankful I am for the promise of God that dark is light to Him.  There are no shades of gray for God.  There is no slinking in the shadows to escape His fiery gaze.  Before His eyes, everything that was hidden is exposed; and we have the benefit of praying for that Spirit of wisdom and revelation (Eph. 1:17) so that we may also see clearly.

I am grateful to the Lord that His Word celebrates with me in the seasons of rest and is a light to me when I cannot see anything around me; but I often take for granted that He makes His discernment available as well when things are just a little “murky”–neither fully dark nor fully light.  Perhaps those are the times when I need to hear from Him the most–when I can see just enough to be tempted to make decisions without Him.

<–Day 9

<–Beginning

This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days – Day 10: Psalm 139

  1. jelillie says:

    ” this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel; And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams: And on my servants and on my handmaidens I will pour out in those days of my Spirit; and they shall prophesy: ” Acts 2:16-18 KJV Thank you for sharing this prophetic word! I look forward to the next post!

    • Chrystal says:

      I long for it! My heart is at war between our critical-thinking, skepticism-embracing society and the promises of the Word. Even Israel’s first king prophesied before he rejected the Lord. What would our nation look like if started saying, “Is Obama numbered among the prophets?” We need the Word!

Leave a Reply

