“But who is Jesus?”

My husband and I have a game we play when life becomes painful/difficult/stressful/______.  It started with my mother a few years ago during a particularly dark season in my life.  She and I were chatting one night, and I was physically shaking with grief–totally alone and unable to breathe through the sorrow that had gripped my chest. 

When I could speak through the tears, I asked her the following question:  “Who is Jesus?”  She paused for a moment, thinking perhaps I was having a crisis of faith and hesitant to encourage that line of thinking.  I quickly explained, “I can’t talk about the situation tonight.  The only thing that will get me through this is to look at who Jesus is.”

My Mother, in her God-fearing, patient wisdom, immediately launched into a list of who Jesus is throughout the Scriptures.  The more she spoke, the more peace flooded my heart, until I was able to add to the list, too.  For the better part of an hour, we took turns reminding ourselves of His Lordship, His compassion, His beauty.

It did not magically make everything okay.  I still struggled with grief for months; however, it gave me the strength to make it through that moment.  We carved out a space in the pain so that I could breathe again.

I shared that night with JD at one point in our courtship, and in his typical tenderness, he didn’t say anything that would magnify or lessen the season but filed it in his mind.  When we face a life hurdle now, over a year into our relationship, JD is the one quick to ask, “But who is Jesus in this?”  Our list has never failed to bring peace to my soul.

Life is rarely perfect.  Usually there’s some nagging issue that tugs at our joy–relationship struggles, sickness, physical limitations, a death, financial concerns, job pressures, school pressures–the list is endless.  Often, it seems that just as soon as we “solve” one issue, another one crops up to take its place.  Maybe it’s the Lord teaching us gratitude.  Maybe it’s the enemy trying to steal our joy.  Maybe it’s just our own, human propensity never to be satisfied.

Whatever your situation today, I would invite you to play our game, look squarely at your problem and ask, “But, who is Jesus?”   Even better, I encourage you to memorize the Scriptures that support your list of who He is.  The more He is exalted, the more everything else fades to lesser importance.

You are–
 
in brokenness and weariness,
exquisite plunges into joy,
sleep deprivation,
peace-filled rest,
melancholy,
laughter,
seasons of loss,
seasons of expansion,
life,
birth,
death,
perfect, faith-filled worship,
ashy, imperfect worship,
in promotion,
in humiliation,
in discipline,
in praise,
 
–He who has the big picture,
He who knows reality from fiction,
He who sees the end from the beginning,
He who holds the times and seasons,
Perfect, beautiful, constant, faithful.
The Bright Morning Star.
The Prince of Peace.
God with us — Emmanuel.
The God who daily bears my burdens.
A mighty fortress.
A strong tower.
A deliverer.
My Great High Priest who understands my weaknesses.
My Mediator with God.
My Savior.
My promised Bridegroom.
My soon coming King.
My righteousness.
My healers.
My provider.
The Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world.
The Lion of Judah who has prevailed on His enemies.
The Word made flesh–God, wearing my frame.
The perfect representation of the Father.
He who has redeemed me and called me by my name.
I AM.
 
This entry was posted in devotion, discouragement, faith, fight, Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “But who is Jesus?”

  1. cherish says:

    perhaps this is one reason I love the song “I Am” by Eddie James…it gets me fired up every time because it’s such a powerful reminder of who He IS in the face of who I’m NOT.

    I very much like this “game” and might see if I can use it with the soon-to-be husband (:

  2. Josef Sefton says:

    Thank you, Chrystal, for your beautiful witness to the divinity of Jesus
    Truly Jesus Christ ought to be worshiped as eternal God!
    The Holy Bible teaches that we are to worship God alone. No created being, no matter how great, is allowed to accept worship. Truly only God is worthy to be worshiped!

    God’s law says, “Thou shalt have none other gods before me…. Thou shalt not bow down thyself unto them, nor serve them” (Dt. 5:7-9). When tempted by Satan, Christ said, “Get thee behind me, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve” (Lk. 4:8).

    When the Apostle John fell in worship before one of God’s mighty angels, the angel rebuked him and told him to worship God. “And I John saw these things, and heard them. And when I had heard and seen, I fell down to worship before the feet of the angel which showed me these things. Then saith he unto me, See thou do it not: for I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren the prophets, and of them which keep the sayings of this book: worship God” (Rev. 22:8-9).

    When Cornelius the centurion fell in worship before the Apostle Peter, Peter clearly rejected the offer of worship: “And as Peter was coming in, Cornelius met him, and fell down at his feet, and worshipped him. But Peter took him up, saying, Stand up; I myself also am a man” (Ac. 10:25-26).

    The contrast with the Lord Jesus Christ is startling: from His birth (Mt. 2:1-2) to His ascension (Lk. 24:51-52), Christ is openly and continuously worshiped by His disciples.

    Jesus didn’t reject this worship, On the contrary, Jesus openly accepted and commended such activity.

    Truly the same person who is known to history as Jesus of Nazareth existed, before He became man, from all eternity as infinite, eternal and unchangeable God!

    Some important passages in which Jesus is worshiped

    Matthew 2:1-2-“Now when Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judaea in the days of Herod the king, behold, there came wise men from the east to Jerusalem, Saying, Where is he that is born King of the Jews? for we have seen his star in the east, and are come to worship him.”

    Matthew 2:10-11-“When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceeding great joy. And when they were come into the house, they saw the young child with Mary his mother, and fell down, and worshipped him.”

    Matthew 8:2-“And, behold, there came a leper and worshipped him, saying, Lord, if thou wilt, thou canst make me clean.”

    Matthew 9:18-“While [Jesus] spake these things unto them, behold, there came a certain ruler, and worshipped him, saying, My daughter is even now dead: but come and lay thy hand upon her, and she shall live.”

    Matthew 14:33-“Then they that were in the ship came and worshipped him, saying, Of a truth thou art the Son of God.”

    Matthew 15:25-“Then came she and worshipped him, saying, Lord, help me.”

    Matthew 28:9-“And as they went to tell his disciples, behold, Jesus met them, saying, All hail. And they came and held him by the feet, and worshipped him.”

    Mark 5:6-“But when he saw Jesus afar off, he ran and worshipped him.”

    Luke 24:51-52-“And it came to pass, while he blessed them, he was parted from them, and carried up into heaven. And they worshipped him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy.”

    John 9:35-38-“…he said unto him, Dost thou believe on the Son of God? He answered and said, Who is he, Lord, that I might believe on him? And Jesus said unto him, Thou hast both seen him, and it is he that talketh with thee. And he said, Lord, I believe. And he worshipped him.”

    Hebrews 1:6-“And again, when he bringeth in the firstbegotten into the world, he saith, And let all the angels of God worship him.”

    Revelation 5:8-14-“And when he had taken the book, the four beasts and four and twenty elders fell down before the Lamb, having every one of them harps, and golden vials full of odours, which are the prayers of saints.

    And they sung a new song, saying, Thou art worthy to take the book, and to open the seals thereof…. And every creature which is in heaven, and on the earth, and under the earth, and such as are in the sea, and all that are in them, heard I saying, Blessing, and honour, and glory, and power, be unto him that sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb for ever and ever.

    And the four beasts said, Amen. And the four and twenty elders fell down and worshipped him that liveth for ever and ever.”

    Revelation 15:3-4-“And they sing the song of Moses the servant of God, and the song of the Lamb, saying, Great and marvellous are thy works, Lord God Almighty; just and true are thy ways, thou King of saints. Who shall not fear thee, O Lord, and glorify thy name? for thou only art holy: for all nations shall come and worship before thee; for thy judgments are made manifest.”

    In Revelation 5:8 the living creatures and elders worship the Lamb (Jesus Christ) and offer Him prayers. In verse 13 Christ is offered the same worship that is given to the Father. In Revelation 15:3-4 the worship of the Lord God Almighty and Jesus Christ the King of the saints are indistinguishable. All nations will come and worship before Jesus Christ (Ps. 22:27-28).

    Truly the risen LORD Jesus is worthy of our worship
    What a wonderful triune God we are blessed to serve.

    Precious treasured friends, let’s worship the LORD Jesus in the beauty of holiness!

  3. cindy says:

    I love reading and sharing your blog with others

Leave a Reply

