musings (part 3)

We’ve let the enemy steal too many of God’s symbols.  “Holiness,” “rainbows,” and “watchtowers” have all taken on connotations that do not fit with His standard or His intent.  Our “love” is cheap.  Our “grace” is a license to get away with anything.  It’s time to trade our definitions for His.

____

Sometimes I feel like my walk with the Lord is like chasing a mirage.  I know He’s there, but I don’t feel His Presence; often I feel like He shows up most after I leave.  Or that I’m out of synch with everyone else — mourning while those around me are launching into His joy, and dancing when He’s wounding them with longing.  Sometimes I spend more time praying, “God, am I just in the way?” instead of praying, “God, have Your way.” 

____

I have no real paradigm of God’s feelings.  How does He feel about being God?  How is humility separate from identity?  How much does He restrain Himself for our sake?    

____

It is good for us to be near God (Ps. 73:28), so why do we spend so much time running from Him?

____

So much of what I’ve thought was insecurity ended up being selfishness.  So much of what I think is competitiveness turns out to be envy.  I have a huge problem with envy.  God, help my cold, dark heart!  Why am I so desperate for recognition and the praise of men?

The true test of humility is not how you handle the praise that others give you, but how you react when they don’t give you the praise or credit you legitimately deserve.

____

Only the two-edged sword can cut the yoke of oppression, regardless of how much we medicate it.   We need the Word!

____

the Man who endured the ultimate sacrifice to receive all authority uses MY prayers to shape history–not because He needs me, but because He wants to partner with me. “when I consider Your heavens. . . ”

____

Love is a thing that increases the more we give it away, and that dwindles the more we try to hold it to ourselves.  Love makes room for others.

musings (part 2)

This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to musings (part 3)

  1. Nina Peery says:

    Your insight on humility really spoke to me. Thank you for being a vessel God uses in MY life!

  2. Reine Gnade says:

    It is good for us to be near God (Ps. 73:28), so why do we spend so much time running from Him?
    That occurs because we often think, to our hurt, that we know better than Our Creator.
    Why am I so desperate for recognition and the praise of men?
    The cure for this Chrystal is praising God Triune more attentively for His cleansing love which brings everything in our life into increasing harmony!

    God’s presence is calm and His short and long-term goal is to cast out all traces of being “desperate for recognition and the praise of men” from our lives.
    In this challenging journey studying the life of David and cherishing his prayers to God would definely be very advantageous to you.
    Yes, God’s two-edged sword can cut the yoke of any source of oppression. Truly, we need the Word of God! Enjoy your studies!

    Humility is an integral part of God’s nature. He is always humble. And yes, truly God restrains Himself for our sake, for as believers we often behave very dishonourably before God and man.

Leave a Reply

