Forays in Fiction

Some of you know I’m an avid lover of story-telling. During many long, boring, “grown-up” meetings my parents attended in my younger years, I would lose myself in worlds created by Agatha Christie, Lucy Maude Montgomery, Frank Peretti, Enid Blyton, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Jack London, and many others.

As a result, I remain a fan of make-believe (a trait that always factors in my dealings with little ones–particularly my nephews). I have dedicated “Thoughts In the Watchtower” primarily to musings on Scripture and current dialogues with the Lord, however I thought some of you might enjoy delving into fiction with me (and perhaps stumbling across some spiritual truths along the way).

The sister blog url is: http://unvoicedprayers.wordpress.com

 Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forays in Fiction

  1. timbob says:

    Good morning. Quite an involved story at the link which you have provided which displays a high level of creative prowess. (Wow; that sound generic) Seriously though; this has somewhat taken me back to an earlier time when I routinely wrote down storylines. There was really no motivation other than to allow the imagination some exercise. (that sounds dangerous) Before I was saved, my favorite topics were of a science fiction/paranormal/non-traditional nature. This was because in those realms, one can discard the boundaries of physics and “take off into the far reaches of the universe.” One could create a world of their design; add characters, formulate a campaign, pepper it with unexpected twists, and bring the good people to ultimate victory.

    As one who is now redeemed by the blood of Jesus and lacking in time, I still find myself imagining storylines that have yet to be placed in writing, but they are different now. I think about the times that we’re living in, the events soon to transpire, and the conclusion of our faith. We truly will live “happily ever after.” This may sound hard to believe, but I have in my head a storyline involving a cast of saints who are going through the tribulation. I’ve thought of writing it down, but time is in such short supply. I’ve thought of starting another blog and just “putting it out there” but my experience with such has already aided in filling the blogosphere with tiny abandoned sites featuring two or three posts.

    Nonetheless, you have stirred my thoughts about this matter. Could such a story be of benefit to anyone? would it bring glory to the Lord Jesus? Would scriptural truths be addressed? Would my wife get mad if I spent all day on the computer and didn’t get anything done around the house? (lol)

    In reading the story at the other site, I noticed an incredible eye for deatil and for painting a complete picture through creative expressions. I’ll have to stay tuned.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

  2. Chrystal says:

    Timbob,

    Thank you for your thoughts. My heart has been for children’s books for a long time. The little ones who traipse in the back yard with me on various nights are very dear to me, and my heart is for them to truly know the depth of our Savior’s love for them from an early age. When I scribble, their precious little faces are in my mind….so I understand your question, “would it bring glory to the Lord Jesus?” I ask the same. Do I point them to true Love? I seek to snatch at their imaginations and draw them away from the influx of mainstream media….if only for a moment. We’ll see where this goes.

    May He give you grace to tell whatever story He burns within your heart.

    Bless you.

Leave a Reply

