my being in Him

How do you see yourself?  Who is the person who stares back at you in the mirror? 

A friend of mine recently posted this as her status on facebook:

Are you so busy trying to change yourself that you have neglected to praise God for who He made you to be in the first place? Lord I will praise You for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Psalms 139:14

Sometimes I get so wrapped up in the ten pounds I want to lose or the frizzies in my hair that I lose sight of the absolute delight the Father has in His creation.  I fall into the sex-driven view that society portrays of how I should look or dress and forget to beautify the inside.

What makes you more beautiful than the radiance of the Holy Spirit dwelling within you?  What brings you more fulfillment than walking in His perfect purpose? 

Ladies, we need renewed eyes to see the person behind the mirror image.  She is exquisite.  She was crafted with ultimate wisdom to bring delight to Him, not to satisfy them.  She was made for more than to satiate the cheap lusts of men.  The Father finds joy in every line, spot, curve, and bone.  To Him, they all tell a story.  Her standard of beauty is in Him; He is what makes her beautiful.  The sum of her worth is much more than the clothing she wears, the color of her hair, or the heaviness of her makeup.

I would encourage everyone to read this blog by my friend over at “Reinventing the We’ll.”  It’s only when we fully grasp the ferociousness of God’s love for us that we will ever see ourselves truly. 

You have stolen my heart, my sister, my bride; you have stolen my heart with one glance of your eyes, with one jewel of your necklace.  Song of Songs 4:9

This entry was posted in confidence, encouragement, Jesus, morality, purity, standards. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to my being in Him

  1. jelillie says:

    Thanks for the shout out. This is a great blog! It’s not just ladies who need to get a hold of their identity in Christ though. We men have much to learn about the power of God’s passion for us.

  2. this is awesome and needed for me! thanks and bless you girl!

Leave a Reply

