The Lion: “I wish I were…”

“I wish I were braver,” says Lucy Pevensie in the 2008 cinematic portrayal of C.S. Lewis’s “Prince Caspian.”

Aslan replies, “If you were any braver, you’d be a lioness,” and a smile dawns across her face.

When we next see Lucy, she’s walking alone to face the iron-clad Telmarine army on a bridge they constructed to cross the river.  She approaches one side of the bridge, and the army stops abruptly on the other, stunned to see this little girl standing to block their way.  With a small smile, Lucy draws a tiny dagger and half-heartedly waves it at them.  Then we see Aslan pace with deliberate steps to walk behind her, and we realize the power behind her. 

It was at this point that I burst into tears the last time I watched this movie.  Like many of you, I feel like Lucy tottering on the edge of a river, thrusting my tiny dagger towards an army waving enormous swords. 

I wish I were braver.  I wish I were stronger. I wish I were more grateful; quicker to forgive; less selfish.  I wish I were.

I wish I trusted more and tried to control less.  I wish I had more faith.  I wish I learned from experience and didn’t panic at the little stuff.  I wish I had more patience. 

I wish I had more to give.  I wish I prioritized and time-managed better. 

I wish I remembered to pray in the Spirit more.  I wish I didn’t have to fight daily not to care about what people think of me.  I wish witnessed more.  I wish I judged less.

I….I….I…

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, and being ready to punish all disobedience when your obedience is fulfilled. [2 Cor. 10:4-6, my emphasis added]

It’s not about the strength of the sword in your hand–it’s about the Lion of Judah standing behind you.

This entry was posted in confidence, discouragement, emotions, encouragement, fight, Holy Spirit, Jesus, strong, warrior. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Lion: “I wish I were…”

  1. fireball3316 says:

    YES! LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE! can i share?

  2. Sara says:

    Awesome! The captain of our salvation and the one who trains our hands to make war!

  3. jelillie says:

    Thank you again! I am in a situation right now where I feel I can do nothing but stand. To the right lies disaster and to the left lies heart-ache. Before me the enemy has drawn a line in the sand and dares me to step forward. It was good to be reminded that behind me stands the Ancient of Days who makes much out of little and more from nothing. When He gives the word I shall advance!

    • Chrystal says:

      I don’t know what you’re facing, but right now I pray that the Word of God will be a shining, burning light to your path, blinding the enemy and giving you clarity and discernment. Our God is faithful, faithful, faithful, and is able to do all things. One thing I love about 2 Cor. 10–the word “mighty” here is “dynatos” and also translates as “possible” in Matthew 19:26 when Jesus says, “with God, all things are possible.” That is what I would say to you today–in God, your weapons are not only exceedingly powerful, but they carry the weight of the One who makes all things possible. May His plan for your life come to fruition in a way that glorifies His name! Bless you!

  4. Thank you Chrystal for sharing your deep love and deep insights !
    When we say “I wish I were” it comes from something we will. Instead of doing this we should bring God’s holy name into the spiritual battle and say it is God’s will for me to be brave! At the cross Jesus Christ won for true believers the right to come before Their holy Father with boldness! Yes, courageous and compassionate Jesus has already won the victory on our behalf.

    The Lion of Judah, Jesus Christ, is God with us. That is so right and He is for us like no one else!

    What we need to do to have increased success is to take this “I wish I were” structure before God so that He can cleanse us from it. As we do this God will change our speech from I wish I were braver to I am committed and empowered to be braver in the love and name of Jesus Christ.

    I would therfore rephrase what Chrystal has written as:
    Bless you heavenly Father for Your purifying love that allows us to be quicker to
    forgive. Majestical Father, such is the beauty of Your selfless heart that the more we come boldly into Your presence the more You will cleanse us from any
    selfishness that still stains our soul.

    What an honor it is to trust You more, delightful Father, for when we do we know that You will bless us with a character that is less controlling.

    God is always advancing and always giving the word to advance and We can always advance in being thankful unto Him. Just as We can always advance in being more honoring in our lives before Him.
    Let us all be of good cheer and courage as we go to war against wrong thinking and and wrongful motivations!
    Blessed be holy triune God who trains our hearts and minds for spiritual battle!
    Heavenly Father I joy in Your purifying presence and we are so grateful to You for making us more faithful hopeful and more loving.
    Triune God, our loyalty will always be to You. Blessed and truly loved be Your exhalted name forevermore!

  5. Reblogged this on That Quiet Girl You Sort-of Know and commented:
    Really struck by the symbolism in this scene, especially as I am currently reading: “Lioness Arising” by Lisa Bevere.

  6. Wow, thank you for this post! Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

