modern-day psalm

Your Spirit hovers over the sea of humanity, eyes probing hearts and searching spirits.  Do You see me?  I’m waving frantically with the banner of love that You gave me.  I want to draw Your eyes, even when they burn me alive. 

Noah released a dove from the ark and it returned to him because there was no place for it to rest.  You sent for the dove of Your Spirit and it settled on Your Son.  I want to be Your resting place. 

I don’t want to be the one You love simply because that’s Your nature; I want to be the one You know, who establishes relationship, who walks in intimacy.  Heaven is Your throne, the earth is Your footstool….but Your habitation is in me.

Day by day, hour by hour, You lead me through the valley, up the mountain and back down again.  Your rod and Your staff are the marks of Your authority–the scepter of the Shepherd.  The rod of iron with which You judge the nations of the earth brings me joy and comfort. 

Your discipline has made me glad.  I am Somebody’s daughter.  Mercy and goodness are chasing me down.  Your gentle love crowns my head, the brilliant diadem of Your family crest.  Your humility has exalted me even as my life is forfeit, laid down before You. 

My King is my Father.  My Judge is my Shepherd.  My sacrificial Lamb is the prevailing Lion.  His Word is my bread, my life, my light, and my salvation.  He is the Door, the Bread that came from Heaven, the Way where there is no other way, the Son of God, the One who was dead and is alive again forever. 

May my soul sing out in the night in my sleep.  May my mind realize that every breath not spent in praise is wasted.  May my heart never swerve from its allegiance to one purpose.  May my mouth choose gratitude over complaint.  May my eyes keep covenant with my morals; my feet rush to promote peace; my hands remain open to give to those in need; my face turn always toward the Son; my ears ignore gossip that is none of my business; my nose delight in the fragrance of I AM; and may the stamp of the Most High mark my life. 

May I be found loving with heart, soul, mind, and strength, even when it hurts.  Especially when it hurts.

I have delighted in the goodness of the Lord.  I have seen the provision of His hand.  His love will overcome every distraction–every broken place in the darkness of my flesh.  Crucified with Christ, buried in baptism, and now alive to know Him in the power of His resurrection. 

Oh what a delight to live in the shadow of His wings.

This entry was posted in anointing, bride, devotion, gratitude, heart, love, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to modern-day psalm

  1. timbob says:

    Good evening. This is awesome! The portion that really stands out for me is the words “day by day, hour by hour, you lead me through the valley, up the mountain, and back down again.” It’s the place that we should all strive to be in. Walking in the Spirit 24-7 without hesitating. Oftentimes not knowing where the road will lead, but knowing that, despite appearances and tribulations, all will be well.

    It’s interesting. All the adventure stories and continuing sagas offered up by the authors of this world fall way short of the joy and real adventure of walking with the Lord Jesus. Of being in fellowship with the one who crafted every star and numbers every hair. Who has no beginning and will remain long after the final fragments of this present reality have dissolved. THAT’S AN ADVENTURE WITH AN ETERNALLY HAPPY ENDING!

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

    timbob

    • Chrystal says:

      I often struggle with that–I find myself playing the Shulamite bride not wanting to get up again and get her feet dirty when He says, “Come away.” And yet you’re absolutely right; we don’t write stories about the ones who sat home on their comfortable couches and exulted in their familiar routines. We write about those who tested the limits and faced fears head-on, embracing impossible situations and hoping against hope. Sometimes I forget that we have the guarantee of a happy ending–I get wrapped up in the circumstance and forget that we already know the end result.

      Bless you, friend. Thank you for stopping by and reading.

  2. Eleanor says:

    The family crest dates back to the 12th Century and is referred to in the holy writings as something of great importance.
    ” I am Somebody’s daughter. Mercy and goodness are chasing me down. Your gentle love crowns my head, the brilliant diadem of Your family crest. “

  3. Joe says:

    “Heaven is Your throne, the earth is Your footstool….but Your habitation is in me.”

    That’s beautiful Chrystal…and so difficult to comprehend too. I think this is one of the harder truths of Scripture for me to grasp.

    Always a treat to visit your site and read your writings. You have a real gift. Blessings to you sister !

  4. Joe says:

    “Heaven is Your throne, the earth is Your footstool….but Your habitation is in me.”

    Maybe I should have clarified and said it was the last part of this that’s so difficult for me to comprehend…

    • Chrystal says:

      I’m right there with you, Joe. God’s graciousness to us is so hard for me to understand. Who are we that He has given us such favor that we will judge the angels? Who are we that He chooses to release His Spirit and move at the sound of our voices? I tear up sometimes thinking about how He takes my tiny, weak, insignificant little “yes” and lets me partner with the establishing of His kingdom on earth.

      A friend of mine recently introduced me to this quote from Pete Greig’s “God on Mute”–it has blessed me so much today:

      “Our prayers, resembling mere dribbles of water, appear to be of an entirely different nature than the substance of the rock. But then there comes the first great freeze of winter – some circumstance beyond human control – and overnight, as if by magic, as if struck by lightning, that vast boulder splits open.”

      Bless you–and may you see the boulders splitting open in your life through the mighty working of His powerful hand!

  5. Sara Shelton says:

    What a gift of expression you have! What a blessing to read! I used to be able to express myself this way and somewhere it got lost among the stuff of life…family, sorrows, etc. I am praying that I could find it again. It really is a reflection of the awesome, creative Holy Spirit within! He is beautiful in you!

    Love you,
    Sara

    • Chrystal says:

      My dear friend….the Lord is daily renewing the song in your spirit, and I rejoice at getting to watch Him do it. Can’t wait to see what He works in and through you when He faithfully completes what He started. Much, much love to you! Thank you for teaching me about faith through your life.

Leave a Reply

